Language Policy
NEW
To advertise here please contact
explore@museumwnf.net

Explore Monuments in Palestinian Territories | Gaza

Mosque of Shihab al-Din Ibn ‘Uthman

Mosque of Shihab al-Din Ibn ‘Uthman

Map

How To Reach

Located in the Shuja‘iyya area, on Suq Street that is part of the Turkman Quarter.

Info

Visitors are welcome all day except at prayer times.

Descriptions with thematic focus from other MWNF programmes


Mosque of Shihab al-Din Ibn ‘Uthman
In Islamic Art in the Mediterranean Exhibition Trails.
Mosque of Shihab al-Din Ibn ‘Uthman in PILGRIMAGE, SCIENCES AND SUFISM. Islamic Art in the West Bank and Gaza, by Mu‘en Sadeq (English, Español)
The mosque is attributed to its founder, the Shaykh Ahmad Ibn Muhammad Ibn ‘Uthaman Ibn ‘Umar Ibn ‘Abd Allah al-Nabulsi al-Maqdisi (also known as al-Khalili). He died in Mecca in 805/1402–1403. It is the second largest old mosque in Gaza, measuring 45 m. × 36.5 m. Its plan follows the traditional layout of mosques, consisting of a central courtyard surrounded by porticoes on all four sides. The current building is a composite of different projects carried out in three stages during the Mamluk period, as indicated by inscriptions and its architectural characteristics. The first structural phase of the mosque includes the earliest components of the building, namely, the western façade with its two entrances, a minaret and the rooms behind it. All these components were built under the auspices of the amir Aqbugha al-Tulutumari in 802/1399–1400. The western façade has two entrance portals; on top of each an inscription plaque is found stating the date of construction. Above the southern portal is an inscription plaque that recites the works of the amir Aqbugha, while on the northern portal there is a record of the buildings that the amir Arzamak endowed to the mosque in a waqf in 797/1394–1395.
The minaret is built above the west façade, between two portals. Three chambers are found behind it, one of which contains the tomb of the amir Sa‘d al-Din Yalkhuja, the Vice-sultan to Gaza in 849/1445–1446. He requested burial there shortly before his death in 850/1446–1447. The rest of the chambers are used for the various other functions of the mosque.
The mosque’s courtyard (measuring 30.80 m. × 27.90 m.), and the portico in front of the qibla represent the second construction phase of the building. The current qibla portico was rebuilt at the time of Sultan al-Mu’ayyad Shaykh in 821/1418–1419, under the supervision of the Amir Abu Bakr al-Yaghmuri (Head of the Guards in Gaza). The main mihrab is a unique masterpiece that consists of a semicircular niche inlaid with marble. Both the mihrab and the dome that precedes it were the work of ‘Alam al-Din Sanjar carried out in 834/1430–1431. The mosque’s minbar is made of marble.
The final construction stage includes the north and south porticoes, which were built some time after 821/1418–1419. They face the mosque’s courtyard and have pointed arches that rest on square pillars. Each portico is divided by a row of pillars into two parts; all in turn are covered with cross vaults.

Mu‘en Sadeq.

La mezquita se atribuye a su fundador, el chayj Ahmad Ibn Muhammad Ibn ‘Uzman Ibn ‘Umar Ibn ‘Abd Allah al-Nabulsi al-Maqdisi, conocido por el sobrenombre de al-Jalili, fallecido en La Meca en 805/1402-1403. Con sus 45 m de largo y 36,5 m de ancho, es la segunda mezquita en tamaño de Gaza. Su planta corresponde al esquema tradicional de las mezquitas con patio central rodeado de pórticos por los cuatro lados.
El edificio actual se considera fruto de varios proyectos realizados en tres etapas durante la época mameluca, como indican las inscripciones y el estilo arquitectónico. La primera fase de la mezquita comprende los elementos arquitectónicos más antiguos del edificio, es decir, la fachada oeste con sus dos entradas, un alminar y algunas habitaciones situadas tras este. Estas obras fueron realizadas por el emir Aqbuga al-Tulutmari en 802/1399-1400. En la fachada oeste hay dos puertas de entrada, coronadas por inscripciones que enumeran las obras del emir Aqbuga, mientras que sobre la puerta están grabados los bienes que el emir Arzamak donó como waqf a la mezquita en 797/1394-1395.
El alminar se eleva sobre la fachada oeste, entre las dos entradas. Detrás se encuentran tres salas, una de las cuales contiene la tumba del emir Sa‘d al-Din Yaljuya, vice-sultán de Gaza en 849/1445-1446, quien poco antes de morir en 850/1446-1447 había pedido ser enterrado ahí. Las otras dos habitaciones sirven a las distintas funciones de la mezquita.
La segunda etapa está representada por el patio central (30,80 × 27,9 m) y el pórtico situado frente al muro de la qibla. El actual pórtico es una reforma realizada en tiempos del sultán al-Mu’ayyad Chayj (821/1418-1419), bajo la supervisión del emir Abu Bakr al-Yagmuri, jefe de la guardia de Gaza. El mihrab principal, un nicho hemisférico revestido de mármol, es una obra maestra excepcional. Este mihrab y la cúpula que lo precede fueron construidos por ‘Alam al-Din Sanyar, en 834/1430-1431.
La última etapa de edificación está representada por los pórticos norte y sur, construidos poco después de 821/1418-1419. Dan al patio de la mezquita mediante arcos apuntados, que se sostienen en pilares cuadrados. Cada pórtico está dividido, mediante una hilera de pilares, en dos partes cubiertas por sendas bóvedas por arista.

Mu‘en Sadeq.

Shihab al-Din Ibn 'Uthman Mosque, entrance and minaret, Gaza. Photographer: Issa Freij & Garo Nelbendian, Jerusalem
Itineraries
Select another Country


Select another Location
in Palestinian Territories
Select another Monument
in Gaza

The web service endpoint returned a "HTTP/1.1 403 Forbidden" response